• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Searching by keyword and autofilling neighboring column (vlookup?)

Laura

Hi,

I'm still pretty new to Excel, but I have a massive listing of people's names and titles. I need a way to search for keywords within their job titles in order to fill in a corresponding job role in the next column. Is this possible?

I tried using a =IF(ISERROR(SEARCH("*dentist*",C5,1)), "", "Dentist"), but I have a large list of job names and roles - it also cuts me off at 7 entries.

I then looked into arranging a vlookup with the hopes I could associate the vlookup formula to a corresponding table or sheet listing all the possible variations of that name corresponding to a role. Does this make sense?

For example:

Name Job Title Job Role Department

--------------------------------------------------------

Betty Super Dentist ? ?

Joe Prof. Clown

Tim Baby Doctor

Bobby Adult Baker

Corresponding table:

Word Role Department

--------------------------------------

Dentist Dentist Medical

Clown Clown Entertainment

Doctor Doctor Medical

Baker Baker Food

I would like to somehow search for a series of keywords in one column and then auto-fill the next column over with the correct role name and from that role the correct department.

Please let me know if I need to clarify. I have a ridiculous collection of titles to search through.

Thank you so much for your help!

Laura

Have a look at using Index,Match combination

You will end up with sommething like =INDEX(Corresponding_Table_Range,MATCH(Job_Role,JobLst,0),Column_in_Table)

where

JobLst is the column of Jobs in the Corresponding Table

Column_in_Table is the column number from the Corresponding Table which has the data you want to return

Hi Laura,