• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

How to charge for Spreadsheet Modelling?

tarynmahon

I have just started up on my own in Bookkeeping/Spreadsheet Modelling and have my first client who just wants me to reformat his 4 year cash flow forecast, he's got all the figures he just doesn't like the format that the person that created it did it in, Obviously it depends on his requirements but I don't think it's going to be a big job but I'm wondering how to price the work, charge per hour or a fixed fee? Also I have no idea how much I would charge for this as I have never done freelance financial modelling before, I've only done it as part of my job being employed as a Management Accountant, any advice will be great thank you, I am based in the UK.

If you have started your own business without understanding how to charge then you are in BIG trouble.

If you know the answer and how long it will take you to implement it then go with a fixed, this is the preferred method of most clients, but realise a fixed price on a job that goes wrong will but you out of business.

An hourly rate is better for you but not your client, they will think that the job is being stretched out for your benefit and not theirs.

If it is a big job or one that contains unknown’s then split the price into selections with payment on the completion of a section with the final amount paid on completion.

You MUST get the wording of the contract/quote absolutely right or you are onto a Gold plated looser of a business.

Last edited:
Congratulations on your first job @tarynmahon