• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Creating a macro that will change as the document changes

Nicole333333

Hi Everyone!

I am still new to this Macro thing, but I am trying to create a macro that will copy and paste data from one column to another; however, I need it to still work if new rows are added in the future without having to go in and change the code every time. The other trick is, there is a certain point (a Total's) row, that I have to stop copying over at. Otherwise, I would have just highlighted the entire column. If someone could point me in the right direction I would really appreciate it!

Thank you all so much!

Nicole

Hi Nicole, if you upload a sample file with your requirements Im sure you will get some help soon.

This might point you in the right direction .... first off it works it gets the info from one cloumn and puts it in another ..... if you then add to it and run again it adds to the other column ..... i added a total in second column and it sums up the info .... if you add more data to first column and it exceeds the space left in second column before the total cell ... it dose not add this data and a msg box pops up and tells you there is not enough space

now i dont write vb code as have only started to teach myself but this wasnt to difficult so i posted ...
But as Lymm pointed out more info is required eg are the column the data is going to be entered on and the column its going to be pasted too going to be on same sheeth or different sheets in same workbook or in different workbooks

if there is not enough space in the second column when you add more data to the first column ....what do you want done ... do you want coded into the vba to move the total row down so as to fit the extra data fits ....