• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Call a macro sub from a web browser link

I have a web browser object embedded in the header of my sheet.

Is it possible to call a sub macro from a link in the web brower object?

I guess you can add an event on webbrowser active x to monitor which URLs are getting requested and fire the macro when URLs match. I have never worked with browser object thru excel, so no idea what events it supports.

@ Chandoo Key Master (my question a little more clear),

I am still new to all of this (and not quite sure how to add an active X event monitor to my links).

I basically have a web browser embed in my excel sheet (the html page is simply a page with shortcuts).

It all started off as simple jpg buttons and shapes linked to different things (basic add link function in excel), and then I wanted to get glamorous with the links and came up with this idea...

It is basically a web page full of flash based fancy shortcuts (that's pretty much it). It works the same way (only through a web browser object). It looks pretty neat and adds style to my excel page (I use these links a lot).

However, now I wonder if I could I use those links to trigger macros from within the excel sheet?

It would give a more seamless and well designed feel to the entire excel sheet if that were possible.

@Indi...

As you can imagine.. firing excel macros from browser would be pretty deep security hole. So there is no natural way to do this (as far as I know). But you can use browser object's events to do something like this.

Btw, if all you want are flash buttons, why not embed them directly in Excel using flash objects? That way you could run macros from _onlick() event...?

Indi