• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Assistance with VBA

JanineStaunton

Hello Everyone,

My name is Janine and I am from South Africa. I work as a senior accountant in the Fuel Retail Sector, and have alot of repetitive tasks that I do daily. I get Text files from the Retail Site and I then import these into excel.
I managed to write a very basic simple Macro that automates this for me. PS: I am very new to this and is currently doing an online course in VBA and Macros. I am not done yet but I am applying it already in my work.

I have difficulty understanding Absolute and relative referencing. So my daily text do not have the same amount of rows every day. The text file is a summary of the previous day's sales and if an item from a certain category were not sold that line will not be part of the text file. What is the correct way to write the code to select all the rows in the text file to copy to my workbook?

Below is what my current code looks like - please help me with what I am missing? I tried for days and finally found the courage to join a forum for help.

Code:
Selection.End(xlDown).Select
    ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).Range("A1").Select
    Windows("Day End Summary.RPT").Activate
    Range("A11").Select
    Range(Selection, Selection.End(xlDown)).Select
    ActiveCell.Range("A1:E28").Select
    Selection.Copy
    Windows("Engen Middelvlei Daily Sales Summary.xlsm").Activate
    ActiveCell.Select
    ActiveSheet.Paste
    ActiveWindow.SmallScroll Down:=3
    ActiveCell.Offset(0, -2).Range("A1").Select
End Sub

Last edited by a moderator:
Thank you in advance for your help. I do not understand how to move a post and would have appreciated assistance or guidance on that. You can delete my post I will take my question somewhere else.