• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

VBA macro to send email when my criteria is met...

mudo2219

I am fairly new with VBA and need your help to write a macro that will send an email automatically once a criteria is met. My workbook is being updated every minute through a query, and the information is constantly changing. Let's say I want to send an email through Outlook if any cell in column Y meets a criteria based upon a formula that cell already has. I have the specific email in column R that is also being updated every time the query updates. The subject of the email will be in column A combined with cell $AB$2. Finally the body of the email will be a combination of data in column E and column O, which is changing row after row.

I hope you can help me with this, and thank you in advance for your time.

Attached is a dummy version of the file I am running.

Thanks a lot!

Attachments

• TEST.xlsx
    10.7 KB · Views: 11
Hi, mudo2219!

There're a lot of wheels yet made, so why invent a new one? If you can manage to handle with a bit of VBA these are a couple of the classical links to mail from Excel:
http://www.rondebruin.nl/win/s1/outlook/mail.htm
http://www.cpearson.com/excel/Email.aspx

In your case, once built a procedure to send mail using any of these methods, you have to build another procedure to go through each line, checking criteria at column Y, and when met, call the send mail procedure.

As you say that data is updated thru a query every minute, you'll have to include the call to the previous procedure at the end of the query and test that timing is fine and there's enough time to send all the mails before next update happens.