• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

search a range of cells for a date and return a value if true.

WISEST.FOOL

Ok, I am new at this. To give you some background I am an infantry soldier who has been stuck in operations. I am like a fish out of water, but I am not completely clueless. I can follow basic formulas. My boss has requested a spreadsheet that displays which objectives require action in a given day/week projected out through the remainder of the fiscal year. So two quarters worth of dates. I have two options. create a spreadsheet that i have to go through and change and reverify each date over a long @$$ spreadsheet manually, or have a spreadsheet that updates itself when i add a date to it. My idea is to shade a cell on the date of the objective somewhere out in the gantt chart to the left. I have color coded each section in the first part of the spreadsheet and assigned each section a number 1-7 that i will assign to a color with conditional formatting over the gantt portion. the best formula i could think of is =IF(AND(range of cells=date cell),number correlation to section,0) I would have to have 7 formulas in each cell one for each section i want but then i can conditional format the cell color based on a number 1-7 which represents a different objective due on that date.

in summary if i enter a date on the first part of the spreadsheet i want the number of the section i added the date to to appear on the date of the gantt chart to the left in the spreadsheet. The cells in the gantt chart will be conditionally formatted so that if the value is 1 then the color is orange which corresponds to an planning objective due on that date. or yellow for 2 which represents a political objective, etc.