• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Nesting Formulas - I think this is where I'm headed

Samantha S

Hello Chandoo & Gang,

Please bear with me, I'm not an expert with nesting so I hope I can explain this right. Is there away to get a formula/nested formula to provide data:

On one spreadsheet we have a list of center numbers that are unique (5215 records/rows) that is our starting point for a vLookup. The table array/range lives on a seperate tab and is made up of 2205 records/rows

Is something like this possible?
Does cell A2 (06316) from Tab 1 exist anywhere in range A1:E2205 on ss 2 and if so return value from E (5)?

I have a fairly good understanding of the vLookup. And realzie it is normally looking at a vertical range and in my experience it is ALWAYS looking at the left most column for the unique. However, you all are the experts so if there IS a way I'm looking to learn :)

Is there another formula I can use? Essentially what we are trying to do is:

If value on spreadsheet1 exists anywere in "this range of cells" on spreadsheet two, return this "value" from spreadsheet 2.

I've uploaded a simplified version of our spreadsheet.

Attachments

• vLookup where unique could be in 3 columns.xlsx
    118.7 KB · Views: 7
You could use this array formula:
=INDEX('SS2'!$E$3:$E$2206,MATCH(A2,INDEX('SS2'!$A$3:$C$2206,,MAX(COLUMN('SS2'!$A$2:$C$2)*('SS2'!$A$3:$C$2206=A2))),0))

Confirm formula with Ctrl+Shift+Enter, not just Enter. Copy down as needed. If formula displays #N/A, then value was not found in SS2.