• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Named Range Based on Conditional Formatting

Dale Katz

Greetings all,

I have been working on a project that will come to a close when I can figure out a solution to this final obstacle. I am applying Conditional Formatting -> Highlight Cell Rules -> Duplicate Values to column A. I then Sort by Cell Color with the colored cells at the top of the sheet. I then move only those colored cells from Sheet1 to Sheet2.

Here is the dilemma and please bear in mind that I am very new to VBA so thank you in advance for your patience.

Each time I use this template/workbook, the number of colored cells will change. So I had a thought but am not quite sure as to the syntax or even if it is the best approach.

I thought I would apply the conditional formatting and then somehow name the range of cells that is now highlighted red and instead of trying to move each row by selecting them manually, I would simply have VBA code that moves the named range based on whether or not the cells were red.

Can anyone help with this task?

Peace and respect,
Dale Katz
dale@iceportal.com

Dale

Firstly, Welcome to the Chandoo.org Forums

Can you please post a sample file
Please include a sample of the final result as well

Hi Dale ,

Can you explain the objective of this exercise ?

I tried out what you have posted , and I end up with the following :

All the colored cells are at the top of the data range , but the point here is that they are all duplicates , which means if you now move these cells to another sheet , the data that is left behind on the original sheet does not include even the first instance of the duplicates ; what is left is those items which were unique to start with.