• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

How can you display the content of a selected row in a pop-up window?

skane2600

I have to work with a spreadsheet that has a lot of columns, so I have to scroll a lot to find what I'm looking for. It would be great to have a macro that would display the selected row in a pop-up window. The idea is that the window would display the row in a vertical format with column headings (e.g. Column Title1: Cell value <newline> Column Title2: Cell value). Can anyone give me a starting point for this macro?

I'm not an Excel expert, so if there's a built-in way to do this, I'd like to know that too. Thanks!

Hi, skane2600!

Perhaps you'd want to read the three green sticky posts at this forums main page so as to know the guidelines that will lead to know how this community operates (introducing yourself, posting files, netiquette rules, and so on).

Regards!

Hi ,

Copy the following code to whichever sheet you want to have this facility :

[pre]
Code:
Public Sub Display_row_contents()
Const NUMBER_OF_COLUMNS = 10   '  Change this as needed
Const STARTING_COLUMN = 3      '  Change this as needed
Const HEADER_ROW = 1           '  Change this as needed
Const MAX_TITLE_LENGTH = 20    '  Change this as needed

'  At present the display consists of the column title and the cell contents
'  If you want the cell addresses to be displayed , change the statement :
'     display_string = display_string & col_title & "   :   " & cell_val & vbCrLf
'  replacing col_title by cell_add to :
'     display_string = display_string & cell_add & "   :   " & cell_val & vbCrLf

Dim input_row As Range
Set input_row = Application.InputBox("Select the row whose contents you wish to display : ", , , , , , , 8)

display_string = ""