• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Debugging custom vba function

infinitedrifter

I'm having trouble with a custom function that pulls an amount from a worksheet based on factors entered on the main sheet (age, zip, etc). I've updated these on several different workbooks(we have one for each state) before with no problem but this week none of the ones I've added seem to work. I'm afraid I'm just making the same mistake in the coding on each one & being that I'm a beginner w/ VBA (more accustomed to using formulas) I just haven't found the error.

Here's an example of one of the function codes:

[pre]<br />
Function Constitution_RATE_PLAN(ByRef zip As Range, ByRef Gender As Range, ByRef Tobacco As Range, ByRef Age As Long, ByRef pay_method As Range, ByRef rate_plan As Range) As Double </p>
<p> 'Initially we need to determine the rate plan that was selected.<br />
Dim rate_str As String </p>
<p> rate_str = "Constitution_" & replace_spaces(Trim(rate_plan), "_") </p>
<p> 'Payment method factor.<br />
Dim pay_factor As Double </p>
<p> Select Case pay_method<br />
Case "Annually"<br />
pay_factor = 1<br />
Case "SemiAnnually"<br />
pay_factor = 0.52<br />
Case "Quarterly"<br />
pay_factor = 0.265<br />
Case "Monthly"<br />
pay_factor = 0.085<br />
End Select </p>
<p> 'Determine gender pay factor.<br />
rate_str = rate_str & "_" & Gender </p>
<p> 'Determine tobacco factor.<br />
rate_str = rate_str & "_" & Tobacco </p>
<p> 'Determine the area factor.<br />
Dim Area_range1 As Range, Area_range2 As Range </p>
<p> Set Area_range1 = Constitution.Range("Constitution_Area_1")<br />
'Set Area_range2 = Constitution.Range("Constitution_Area_2")</p>
<p> 'Now we search the range for the appropriate column.<br />