• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Conditional Formatting to hightlight Cells if contain text which is NOT a-z A-Z

Status
Not open for further replies.

andysw23

Hello,

I'm hoping someone can help me. I’m an Excel novice and I’ve been Googling for hours to try and find an answer for this problem. I need to apply conditional formatting to cells so they will highlight if the cell contains special characters. I’d like the cells to highlight if they contain anything which is not a normal character (a-z A-Z 0-9, space, full stop, comma etc) because with the special characters there are too many to mention.

So for example if a cell contained ‘B@rbara Windsor’ it would be highlighted because of the illegal @ symbol, but if it was correctly typed ‘Barbara Windsor’ it wouldn’t be highlighted.

I’m using Excel 2007

Please can you help?

Cheers.

Hi, andysw23!

I can think in two ways to perform it, one more complex and another simple.

The complex one implies using lots of auxiliary columns to validate each character, and the only advantage is that it would only use Excel formulas and no macros (VBA code).

The simple one involves just a short piece of text like this:

-----

[pre]
Code:
Option Explicit

Function WrongText(psText As String) As Boolean
' constants
Const ksAllowed = "ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZabcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz 0123456789.,"
' declarations
Dim bOK As Boolean, iFound As Integer, I As Integer, J As Integer
' start
bOK = True
' process
For I = 1 To Len(psText)
iFound = 0
For J = 1 To Len(ksAllowed)
If Mid$(psText, I, 1) = Mid$(ksAllowed, J, 1) Then iFound = 1
Next J
If iFound = 0 Then
bOK = False
Exit For
End If
Next I
' end
WrongText = Not (bOK)
End Function
[/pre]
-----