• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Conditional Formatting, or how to flag in Spreadsheets?

LJR

I am new to both this forum and to Excel in general. I know Excel is very formula driven and the key to success with Excel is success with formulas.

Right now I am working on a side project and it involves creating a spreadsheet to track info on. I need to be able to create a forumla that will flag all cells when a certain set of criteria are met. An example below.

Lets say I have 5 Devices, named DVC1, DVC2, DVC3, DVC4, and DVC5. Everytime one of these devices needs to be serviced, I enter the information for this service into an Excel spreadsheet; much like a service ticket but in an Excel spreadsheet.

I notice that DVC2 and DVC5 have alot of issues and most of the issues are recurring. How do I set a formula up that will flag/highlight if DVC2 and/or DVC5 has exceeded let's say....7 times that they need repaired, or 7 times they were entered into the spreadsheet?

I tried figuring out the COUNTIF formulas but I can't figure them out for some reason. I add them to the spreadsheet to my desired row but it doesn't highlight anything when I know the criteria is met.

I tried this: =countif(D3:D50, DVC2 DVC5)>7 but nothing happens. DVC's are entered in the D column.

What am I doing wrong? I am entering the formula in the Conditional Formatting.

First, you need to use dollar signs to indicate absolute references (versus relative references). Otherwise, when you copy the formula down, XL will shift the range reference to D4:D51, then D5:G52, etc.

Next, the criteria needs to just be a single value, and you need to use quotation marks to indicate that you are inputting a text string and not a cell reference.