• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Create an Antibiogram using Excel

rhoyt

As a physician I often have to look up how sensitive a bacteria (bug) is to medication (drug) so I can use the best choice (the most sensitive). Every hospital publishes their local results (antibiogram) and physicians usually get a piece of paper with the table of roughly 10 antibiotics and 10 common bacteria. What I would like to do is create a template with only three fields. One field is "Bug" another is "Drug" and the last one is % sensitivity. Ideally, Bug and Drug would have a drop down menu to save steps. So, if I select E.coli as the bug and ampicillin as the drug, the third window would give me e.g. 50% sensitivity (like a calculator). The ultimate goal would be to save the calculator/spreadsheet as a web page and embed it on my web site and access it from my smart phone for access regardless of location. What would be really excellent is if there could be some way other hospitals could take my Excel template and host it on another web page (on my web site or theirs). Perhaps I am asking too much. Can Excel do this or do I need a relational database? Many thanks.....Bob

Hi ,

Do you mean to say that you get the results from a hospital in the form of a lookup table ? If you say there are 10 bacteria , and 10 antibiotics , does that mean there can be a maximum of 100 entries ?

If so , Excel can certainly do the lookup into the table and return the sensitivity value.

However , embedding this in a webpage and then accessing it from a smartphone is something I have no idea about. Others may be able to say more on this.

Narayan

@rhoyt

HI

Firstly Welcome to Chandoo.org Forums and we are glad your are here