• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

VBA to multiply small list by UserEntry value?

cash_flow_pro

Hello.

I'm a VBA newbie & today I'm trying to write my first ever program - but I'm not sure exactly how I should approach multiplying a (very small) excel list by a user entry value .. (or if indeed I should have it in excel at all, or just include into the code?)

I've got my UserEntry Value .. but after that I'm unsure .. does anyone any idea's?

Thanks.

Hi,

Why don't you consider uploading your file so we can have better understanding of your data.

To do the same please follow the link:

http://chandoo.org/forums/topic/posting-a-sample-workbook

And perhaps, you may want to explain it bit more clearly like what is your multiplication factor, any logic/criteria behind multiplication etc.

Kaushik

Hi kaushik03, and thanks for your reply!

I'm not sure I know what a multiplication factor is, but I'll try to explain:

It's really very simple (and my first ever VBA), I'm just trying to learn, not make the meanest baddest fastest script in the world!

So .. I've got a recipe list in excel, item names in cells a1:a7 and values per person in cells b1:b7

I've asked how many people we're feeding with the following code (which to be honest I only partly understand as have borrowed and adapted from somewhere else!)

Sub NoOfCovers()

' find out how many covers

Dim UserEntry As Variant

Dim Msg As String

Msg = "How many people are attending?"

UserEntry = InputBox(Msg)

If UserEntry = "" Then Exit Sub

End Sub

And now what I'd like to do is write some further script that multiplies each value in cells b1:b7 by the UserEntry value collected above.

Does this make sense?