• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Timeline (Progressive) Heatmap in Excel 2010

ChasD

I do value analysis for a living and our methodology is to interview stakeholders across an organization to understand their challenges related to a given topic. So, for example, I recently conducted 20 interviews. The findings from those interviews produced 21 unique challenges which are divide across 4 categories (efficiency, effectiveness, productivity, readiness). A part of my analysis is to tally challenges identified by each stakeholder. In the end, I have a list of challenges with a total count and then sort them by category and in descending order. Traditionally, for each category I product a pie-chart that shows the proportion of each challenges within a category. As you can imagine, this is good detail for the wonks in the audience, but overwhelming when presenting to executives in a short time frame. This leads me to my question: I would like to create a heatmap in excel that builds on a timeline. In my example, I would like to animate the heatmap build starting with interview #1 and on until interview #20 - so "interview #" would be the x-axis (scale: 1-20), and I envision a 4 quadrant map above that x-axis (one for each category) and then Y and Z axis' that would list each of the challenges in that quadrant. Within the quadrant I would envision a bubble that appears (for a new challenge) and/or grows & intensifies as subsequent interviews identify the same challenge (i.e. the tally count for that challenge goes up). It would be ideal to have a slider below the interview number that can be dragged or played and then watch the heatmap grow over time/number of interviews.