• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Problem with power pivot

Lolo

Hello,

I have an issue that I try to solve in power pivot, but I don't figure it out.
I know well Excel, power query is quite OK I would say , but I'm quite new in power pivot (However I have knowledge on SQL and on data models) .

here is my problem:
I have data that comes from my Oracle DB, and gives me like a schedule:
On a service, I have 1 vessel, that goes to a city then to another, etc... on a specific date.
When the continent change, I put a flag "Y" on the concerned location
(see file attached)

I would want to group for each service/vessel, all cities regarding the first previous city of the continent.

To test, and for the example, I have managed to do that in Excel, like in the file attached
* Source data are in Blue
* Requested calculated fields are in Green

Data are sorted by Service/vessel/date. And I have an array formula to identify the 1st previous city on the service/vessel that has the change flag = "Y". then I use a basic index formula to get the point and date.

But since I have a very big volume of data, it will not works in Excel (use of array formula...).
So I wanted to do the same in power pivot (or power query...)

1/ First, (for information) I have tried to do it in power query, (to summarize) by using function Table.Max in a function, and it works :

GetOpsData = (table as table, service as text, vessel as text, aDate as datetime) => Table.Max(Table.SelectRows(table, each [SERVICE_NO]=service and [VESSEL]=vessel and aDate>=[DATE] and [CHANGE]="Y"), "DATE")