• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Index match vs Sumifs

andreabezt

Hi,

Please help, I've tried researching for two days now and I'm ready to pull my hair out at this point! Hard coding cells I can get it to work, but I don't know how to make it dynamic and I don't even know whether I'm using the correct formula for what I want to do.

I've attached a file with a simulation of my data. I'm very new in Excel for this kind of purpose, I usually work with SQL, Access VBA and VB.

I have a tab of data that I refresh weekly, pulling data from other databases and it contains an unknown number of rows but the columns are always the same. This data is simulated and vastly simplified on the bookdata tab of my example.

On the books tab of my example I have two dropdowns, the firsts is based on a list of all the months of the year. Based on this first dropdown, it searches my data (on the bookdata tab) for all the matching months and then displays all the names that are associated with that month in dropdown two. These two dropdowns are in column B row 2 and 3 on the books tab of my example.

Based on the result of these two dropdowns, I have to display all the rest of the data in the specific row in bookdata, as seen in column G and H of the books tab.

Here's my problem
SUMIFS works swell with numbers, but it won't display text. I've done some reading and am now using Index match for that field (column I of books). As said, hard coding cell numbers works, but I can't make it work dynamically. Can someone please help me with this, even tell me if I'm using the correct formula!

Thank you in advance!

Andrea

Attachments

• example.xlsm
    21.4 KB · Views: 14
I3 should read as :