• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Import certain data from text file into a Excel worksheet

pete_agreatguy

Hi all,

I would like to find a way of automating "getting" certain data from a log.txt file as doing this manually via notepad++ is extremely tedious - let alone time consuming.

Any help would be highly appreciated in getting this automated at the click of a button within Excel, assuming it is feasible?

Please note that even though I have had some programming experience in the past (2003) I am not so confident in myself so please treat me as such. I also suffer mental health and my concentration is poor at the moment. i.e. Please be kind. Thank you.

The data I would like to find within a text file to transfer into an Excel worksheet using VBA:

Files attached:
  • output_log.txt = Contains the data

• results.xlsm = Data retrieved manually by using the "search" feature in notepad++ (i.e. the end result I would like to have)

• vba_help.jpg (g drive link) = Please refer to this when reading the description below as it will aid your understanding considerably
As you can see in the screenshot, in excel I have a table that includes:
  1. Flight No = an aircraft's flight number
  2. Type = if it is a departure aircraft or an arrival aircraft
  3. Time = the time this aircraft landed (or took off) successfully
  4. Runway = the runway that the aircraft landed or took off from
  5. Entry Point = the taxiway that an aircraft used to enter the runway (dep. only)
For example (how I got this data manually) - please refer to vba_help.jpg:
  1. The flight no (consider this to be the unique identifier) can be found on every single line of code mentioned below

2. To find out "Type" and "Time" we can look for these specific statements: