• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Find all possible combinations of numbers that equals a sum with criteria of maximum numbers to sum and sum range

Hussaan

Hello,
I want to create all possible combinations of numbers (for example 45,90,50,30,..)from a define list with and without repetition whose sum is between a define criteria. (say 150 to 180) with criteria that use maximum five numbers with and without repetitive.
90 + 90 = 180
90 + 45 + 45 = 180
45 + 45 + 45 + 45 = 180
I have an excel file. In which I am doing all things manually which is very time consuming and also error chances. Kindly help me for a excel vba code that can help. I am new to vba so don't know how to do.

In the current file following are the inputs.
Number to sum in column range A3:A200.
Cell D2 is the input of maximum sum value required.
Cell D3 is the input of minimum sum value required.
Cell D4 is the input of maximum number that can be used to find sum
Output
C8:L1000 or more than 1000 depending on the output.
I have attached the file.
Thanks

Attachments

• Numbers to sum.xlsx
    6.6 KB · Views: 4
Hello,​
many issues :​
except I can't open your attachment on my test computer (I have to grab later another computer with a more recent Excel version)
it's first not an Excel / VBA issue but a mathematical problem where in the initial post​
you should explain at least what is the algorithm you use to resolve your need …​
I already saw - like I yet have posted solutions - on web only for an obvious without any repetition way for accountancy / finance purpose.​
Another issue is why Excel as it's one of the slowest application (via VBA) and it depends too on the algorithm used.​
The more numbers in the source list, the slower (and could be worse with repetitions) …​