• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Count, Max and Sum

I am new to excel and I am having difficulty creating a formula that will sum a column and only place the sum in the first row of a group of the same date. Please see attached file. Each row has repeated dates with repeated total pieces I have created a count max formula but am stuck on sum of the max for the group of date.

Any help or insight would be appreciated

Attachments

• Count Sum Max.xlsx
    14.9 KB · Views: 4
Thank you Peter for such a quick response. I was very close in my attempts prior to posting ... your input helped tremendously. Good point .. I changed the formula to structured references. I'm taking this data a trying to run a pivot table then a pivot chart. These 2 columns will not add or sum in the pivot only count ... like the cells contain text. I've tried several changes including changing the value_if_false from "" to 0 ... but still cannot get them to sum on my pivot table. It's odd because I can sum these 2 columns at the bottom of the table but the pivot table will not sum. Any advise would be appreciated.

A pivot can't sum 2 columns, but values of a certain dimension, which is a single column. Or I misunderstand.
Also why do you need the formulas inside the table. Both can be done via pivots.

Attachments

• Copy of Count Sum Max.xlsx
    15.7 KB · Views: 1
Last edited:
Okay ... Attached is a more complete file of what I'm working with. I saved as a .xlsm so you can see the user entry form. I would like the chart to be by day not by day and by tag.