• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Can Excel Do This?

Gail

Greetings from Atlanta, GA. I have been a student of Chandoo for several years and have benefited greatly from learning techniques and tricks from this website. While my Excel skills may seem advanced to some, there are a few things I just have no clue how to start and the reality is that I know nothing compared to the people I meet on this forum. I would like Excel to take a gigantic data file and bust the data up based on words contained in the data? For example, one of the columns of data has the name of a customer and then there are 5000 rows of data with that customer name in it. I would like to have Excel bust the data up onto separate worksheets for each customer. Is that even possible? If it is what class do I need to take to be able to learn how to do it? For example, my data file has 110,000 lines of data that pertain to about 50 different customers.

Filtering a table and generating a new sheet of data is something that Power Query can do easily, though automating the process for 50 customers might require deeper knowledge of the M language.

Hany Ali, thank you for responding. I didn't understand your message except for the fact that I needed to upload the file. I tried to upload it and it gave me an error message that the file was too big. It is 7.2MBs. So I cut out half of the data (now only 50,000 lines as a test - 3.4MBs) and it was still too big to send through the forum.