• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Array formula for sorted & filtered results

Vatsy

Hello,
I am new to excel and still learning INDEX & MATCH functions, your help here is greatly appreciated.

I have a data set which can have large number of records (several 1000s). The data is unsorted and contains date and few other fields. See attached sample data excel.

The challenge I have are:
1. Need to find specific values in the 'Value' column that are with in the date range given at cell F3 and G3
2. I also need to map these values to specific dates in 'Date' column
3. Once these values are obtained, I need to plot them on a scatter plot

For #1 above, I am trying to use INDEX and MATCH functions. I have figured out a way to create an array with Row numbers for valid entries (i.e. rows that meet the Date criterion specified above).

{=(Table1[Boolean]=TRUE)*(Table1[Date]>=F3)*(Table1[Date]<=G3)*MATCH(ROW(Table1[Boolean]), ROW(Table1[Boolean]))} (entered with Ctrl+Shift+Enter) See cell E7

This array formula does create an array of values with '0' (Zero) for rows that do not meet the criterion and actual row number for those that do meet the criterion. Example:

{1;2;3;4;5;6;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;0;95;96;97;0;99;100;101;102;...} <Trimmed rest of the array>

I am lost on how to get the actual data from 'Value' and 'Date' columns. I tried using INDEX but that's not returning an array (I only get the first value). For example: