• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Finding the corresponding date for a 52-week high value, based on the most recent data entry

forwork

Hi,

This is my first time posting here. I learned about this forum from http://reddit.com/r/excel.

I've attached a simplified version of my workbook as an example. There are two sheets: "Dailies" and "Calc". On the "Dailies" sheet I enter the date and some data values every Monday-Friday. I've included 2 "Value" columns as an example.

I want the "Calc" sheet to automatically update its calculations based on the latest entry on the "Dailies" sheet.

One of my calculations is the "52-Week High" which calculates the highest data value in the last year's worth of data, looking back from the most recent data entry. My problem is calculating the corresponding date that the data value peaked on.

I have been using INDEX-MATCH functions for these calculations. However, when I try to calculate the corresponding date of the "52-week high/low" values, the function returns #REF!.

I'm assuming this is because I can't nest INDEX functions, but I don't actually know.

Please let me know if this question is clear and/or you need more information. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

edit: I've edited the post above to make the issue clearer.

Attachments

• Daily values.xlsx
    73.3 KB · Views: 23
Last edited:
@SirJB7 ,

I took a look through the new users post. I didn't see my problem in the "common problems" thread. Did I miss something I shouldn't have?

In regards to B6:C6 and B11:C11, I expect to see these dates:

B6: 22-Jan-13 ('Dailies' cell A1485)
C6: 23-Jan-13 ('Dailies' cell A1486)

B11: 28-Jun-13 ('Dailies' cell A1598)
C11: 27-Jun-13 ('Dailies' cell A1597)

Thanks!

Hi, forwork!