• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Find text separated by line breaks on a cell-by-cell basis

TonyC

Hi - a newbie here.

Is it possible in Excel to find text separated by line breaks within a cell? Suppose the text consists of the following in the same cell:

“aaa” on one line; a blank line; and then on the next line “bbb”.

How can I find all instances of this combination in a Worksheet containing thousands of rows?

Thanks in advance.

TC

Untested code :
Code:
Sub FindLineBreak()
Cells.Select
Selection.Find(What:=Chr(10), After:=ActiveCell, _
LookIn:=xlValues, LookAt:=xlPart, _
SearchOrder:=xlByRows, SearchDirection:=xlNext, _
MatchCase:=False, SearchFormat:=False).Activate
End Sub

Or you can:

1. Press Ctrl+F to display the Find tab of the Find and Replace dialog box. (See Figure 1.)
    T3220F1.jpg

Figure 1. The Find tab of the Find and Replace dialog box.
  2. In the Find What box, hold down the Alt key as you type 0010 on the numeric keypad. It may not look like anything is in the Find What box, but the character is there.
  3. Click Find Next.

Thanks Logit. Looks to me like your suggestion will find line breaks but I'm looking for instances of the specific entry: "aaa"; blank line; "bbb" where aaa and bbb are variable from one search to another.

So for instance, one search might involve looking for cells containing:
2B>
(blank line)
3B<

where the actual text isn't going to be the same from one search to the next but the text I'm looking for will always be separated by a blank line.

Incidentally the 2 separated text items will always each consist of a block of 3 characters located at the beginning of a line within each cell.

TC