• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Need Macro to Split First Name Last Name Middle Name Surname

Balajisx

Hi All,

I am very new to excel macros. Currently I am in need of a macro which helps me to split the First name last name Middle name and Surname. There will be multiple scnerios where I have to write a code to split based on the scnerio. Could you please help me to get the code. I have attached the Names for your reference. A Column is a Name B referes as Correct First and C is correct Last Name and D is a surname. I need a macro to split the A exactly like Column B ,C & D

Hi Mcgill,

Thank you for your reply. These name are just samples scnerios. We will take similar kind of Names on a real time basis. That is the reason I am looking for a macro to split these Name. your help is highly appriciated.

Wow That works cool... Thank you Mcgill.
But if a text contains , then the second name should come as first name. for eg
REEVES, PEGGY ---- PEGGY SHOULD BE THE FIRST NAME AND REEVES SHOULD BE LASTNAME.

I wrote the formula as :

=IF(ISNUMBER(SEARCH(" ",A12)),PROPER(LEFT(A12,FIND(" ",A12,1)-1)),IF(ISNUMBER(SEARCH(",",A12)),PROPER(RIGHT(A12,LEN(A12)-FIND(",",A12,1))),IF(ISNUMBER(SEARCH(", ",A12)),PROPER(RIGHT(A12,LEN(A12)-FIND(", ",A12,1))))))

however I am getting "," after that eg REEVES, please help

This may work...
add to the beginning of your code =IF(ISERROR(FIND(",",A2))
and the end of your code TRIM(RIGHT(A2,LEN(A2)-FIND(",",A2))))
Just replace parts for the Last Name and Sir Name....