• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

counting the number of students within a score range

Murugesh Siva

Hi,

I am Murugesh, I am a test administrator in Corporate house. I have been trying to pull a pivot and have been get poor results
In a day I run close to a 100 tests with 2 vendors for which I have to compartmentalize the scores in groups of 50's. I used the If(OR(AND formula like

=IF(OR(AND(B:B>=400,B:B<450)),1,"")

while the result is right, it does provide a '1', my pivot says otherwise, I get extras. I am wondering if my formula is right. I also need to post the results in Excel 2003, 2007 and 2013 cause a lot of people are still using 2003.

Thank you

Attachments

• test scores.xlsx
    8.9 KB · Views: 6
What about:
=COUNTIFS(B2:B9,">"&400,B2:B9,"<="&450)
Adjust <, > and = and values as appropriate

Or as a table see attached

Attachments

• test scores.xlsx
    9.8 KB · Views: 5
Hi Murugesh ,

I am not sure what you want your formula to do ; the construct :

OR(AND(B:B>=400,B:B<450))

does nothing more than what the construct :

AND(B:B>=400,B:B<450)

does , since if you want to use an OR , unless you have at least two cases , the OR is not necessary.

Secondly , if you want your formula to look at each value in column B , and put the result in column C , looking at an entire column as your formula is doing is again , not necessary.

A simple IF statement such as :

=IF(AND(B2>=400,B2<=450),1,0)

will do.

Only if you want a complete sum of all the cases where the cell in column B has a value between 400 and 450 , in one cell , do you need to use a formula such as :

=SUMPRODUCT(($B$2:$B$9>=400)*($B$2:$B$9<=450))

Hui , I think COUNTIFS will not work with Excel 2003 , as required by Murugesh.

Narayan