• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Conditional Formatting for Duplicates

Eoin

Hi All,

I am new to Chandoo and definitely not an excel expert so my query may be pretty simple :) But I have searched the web and cannot find a solution so any help would be really appreciated. I am trying to apply conditional formatting to a work roster (I have uploaded a simplified version of the roster format). The roster is for various supervisors (Columns B to I) looking after various work areas (Rows 5 to 16) and it also shows planned annual/parental leave (Rows 18 to 21). My end goal is to automatically fill cells listing the supervisors name in the top section with red using conditional formatting when a supervisor is rostered for work on a day they are also listed for annual/parental leave. I am trying to use a Countif rule to identify duplicates but as some supervisors can look after more than one area on a particular day I am struggling! The actual roster is very large with sub work areas etc but if I can figure it out for my simplified version I should be able to apply the solution to the actual roster.

I hope i have explained my issue clearly but if not please feel free to ask a question. Again thank you very much in advance for any help :)

Eoin

Attachments

• Roster Sample.xlsx
    42.5 KB · Views: 8
Eoin

Select the range B5:I16
Conditional Formatting
Use a Formula
=AND(B5<>"",COUNTIF($B5:$I5,B5)>1)
Select an appropriate format
Apply

Hi Hui,

Thank you for your quick response and apologies I am only getting to look at this again now. I have tried the formula you have provided but unfortunately it does not do what I was hoping. I don't think I explained what I am trying to achieve clearly, sorry :)