• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Allocating an Estimated Number of Tasks

ChadMahan

Hello all, This is my first post but I've been browsing this forum for years. I'm a tech savvy guy with some mathematical and statistical background but I don't use excel enough to know exactly what to do in my current situation.

I developed a calculator of sorts that supervisors at my company can use to see the impact on the rest of the workforce when they let their workers take a day off. See the attached sample sheet that the supervisors can check a box if the worker is here that day. Then the sheet calculates the capacity of tasks our entire workforce can complete in one day based on who is here and based on the given worker's capability. Not every worker can complete the same number of tasks but all tasks have to be completed in the same day.

I also have just a basic mean average calculator that will show the number of tasks every worker would get if you enter an estimated value. However that doesn't account for the workers who are new and aren't at full capacity. Plus on busy days the workers that are at full capacity (6-8) may have to take more tasks than they are supposed to be capable of (more than 8 tasks).

I would like to set up a column that will show how many tasks a worker will receive if they are present given the estimated number of tasks entered into the estimated tasks box, but they should not exceed the capacity unless that capacity shows "6" or "8", then technically that worker can receive more. Also, the estimated number of tasks cannot be allocated to workers who are not available.